> SlowTrav > Switzerland > Trip Planning

The Cantons of Switzerland

Switzerland is divided into Cantons (regions).

ZH Zrich SH Schaffhausen
BE Bern / Berne AR Appenzell Ausserrhoden / Appenzell Outer Rhodes
LU Luzern / Lucerne AI Appenzell Innerrhoden / Appenzell Inner Rhodes
UR Uri SG Sankt Gallen / St. Gallen
SZ Schwyz GR Graubnden / Grisons
OW Obwalden AG Aargau / Argovia
NW Nidwalden TG Thurgau / Thurgovia
GL Glarus TI Ticino
ZG Zug VD Vaud
FR Freiburg / Fribourg VS Valais / Wallis
SO Solothurn NE Neuchtel
BS Basel Stadt / Basel City GE Genve / Geneva
BL Basel Land / Basel Country JU Jura

Obwalden and Nidwalden together are called Unterwalden.

This Switzerland government website shows the official list of cantons: www.admin.ch.

The map and Canton flags on this page were taken from the www.admin.ch website with permission from Informationsdienst, Bundeskanzlei, Schweizerisches Bundeshaus West, 3003 BERN, May 2002.

Back to Top

Car Rental Hotel Booking Flight Booking Train Tickets Books, Maps, Events
Europe Cell Phones Long Distance Cards Luggage, etc. Travel Insurance Classifieds

* Advertise on Slow Travel | Post your travel questions on the Slow Travel Forums

Copyright © 2000 - 2014 SlowTrav.com, unless noted otherwise. Slow Travel® is a registered trademark. Contact Slow Travel

RSS Feeds - Link to Us - Terms of Use - Privacy Policy - IB Cookie Policy - Currency Converter - Colophon - Sponsors - Become a Member
Home | Forums | Slow Travel? | Europe Trip Planning | Photos | Trip Reports | Search | About Us | Classifieds